The pick if you want a review, not a card. Every listing is test-driven and scored out of 100 against a public rubric, free listings get two dofollow links (your page and the Reviewed Wall) with the badge, and Launched++ is $9.99 one-time for four links with no badge. AI tools only, so a non-AI product won’t fit.
The best twelve.tools alternatives in 2026
twelve.tools is a curated directory that publishes twelve new startups and web tools every day. Listing is free if you add a link back to twelve.tools on your homepage or footer, or $36 one-time for a Pro listing with three permanent dofollow links and a 24-hour turnaround. For a lot of makers it is a sensible first submission.
Founders usually go looking for alternatives for one of three reasons: they don’t want a reciprocal link in their footer, they want more than one followed link from a free listing, or they want a page that actually reviews the product rather than lists it. This page compares the other directories on exactly those points — pricing, link policy, review process and speed — using only what each site states publicly.
13 directories compared below, including launched.tools. Facts were read from each site on September 8, 2026; anything a site doesn’t state is marked “not stated”, not guessed. Head-to-head with launched.tools →
Credit where it’s due
A real free tier
The free plan is genuinely free and genuinely dofollow. The only cost is a link back to twelve.tools on your site.
Cheap, fast Pro
$36 one-time buys three dofollow links described as permanent, a review within 24 hours, and rotating homepage features. No subscription, no badge.
Daily cadence, deep catalog
Twelve picks a day adds up. The Artificial Intelligence category alone held 994 tools at verification, so the category pages have real depth.
A maker who ships directories
The same maker runs Ramen Tools, Wired Business, FrogDR and 500.Tools. The submission flow is polished and the pricing page says exactly what you get.
The reasons people search for twelve.tools alternatives
The free listing needs a link on your homepage or footer
twelve.tools requires a backlink to its site on your homepage or footer. A sitewide outbound link is a real ask, and some founders would rather pay, or use a badge that lives on a single page.
One link, and a 72-hour wait
Free listings get a single dofollow link and are reviewed within 72 hours. Several directories below offer more links on their free tier, or publish faster.
A listing is not a review
twelve.tools curates what gets in, but the listing itself is a card with your tagline. If you want a page that tests the product and gives readers a verdict — the kind of page people cite — you need a directory that reviews.
Twelve a day means a short front-page life
The homepage turns over daily by design. Launch platforms hold you on the front page for a launch period; review directories send traffic from evergreen category pages instead.
twelve.tools vs 13 alternatives
Every cell comes from the directory’s own pricing, submit or FAQ page. Highlighted rows: twelve.tools and launched.tools.
| Directory | Pricing | Link policy | Review process | Speed | DR | Traffic / mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| twelve.tools Curated tool directory | Free (link back required) or Pro $36 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free: one dofollow link, and a backlink to twelve.tools is required on your homepage or footer. Pro: three dofollow links described as permanent, no backlink needed. | Human approval Submissions are reviewed before listing; the site describes its picks as hand-picked. No written review or score is published. | Reviewed within 72 hours (free); reviewed and listed within 24 hours (Pro). | 82 | 1K |
| launched.tools Reviewed AI tool directory this site | Free (Bootstrap, badge required) or Launched++ $9.99 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free: two dofollow links (your listing page and the Reviewed Wall), conditional on keeping the badge on your site — a listing whose badge goes missing is unpublished after a 7-day grace period. Launched++: four dofollow links (adds your category hub and launch-month page), no badge, unconditional. | Editorial review + score Automated fit check, then a test-drive scored out of 100 on capability, usability, value, reliability and docs & support. The score is never for sale. | Free: live once the badge verifies after the automated check. Launched++: publishes when payment clears. | 38 | 0 |
| dofollow.tools AI & SaaS tool directory | Free (badge required, 5 slots a day) or paid from $19 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free listings stay dofollow only while its badge is on your site (re-checked; drops to nofollow if removed). Paid listings ($19 Pro, $25.90 Dual Directory, $99 Featured) get a permanent dofollow link with no badge. | Human approval Free submissions wait in a review queue; paid listings are published within minutes. No written review or score is published. | Free: a 7-day queue with 5 free slots a day site-wide. Paid: live in minutes. | 73 | 0 |
| findly.tools Curated SaaS & tool directory | Free (badge required) or Premium $25.20 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free: dofollow while its badge stays on your site. Premium: four dofollow links, no badge, lifetime. | Human approval The site states every listing is reviewed before it goes live. A separate paid Product Review ($79) is a 2,500+ word article on its blog. | Premium: instant publish. Free: queue time not stated. | 81 | 32 |
| Open Launch Open-source launch platform | Free launch (fully booked into 2027 at verification) or Premium $12 per launch | Dofollow, with conditions Free: dofollow only if you finish in the day's top 3 and display its badge on your site. Premium: guaranteed dofollow link. | Community votes Community upvotes decide the daily top three. No editorial review or score is published. | Premium: launch the next day (10 premium slots daily). Free: waitlist, booked into 2027 at verification. | 72 | 0 |
| Product Hunt Launch community | Free to launch | Not stated | Community votes Community-driven with community guidelines; no editorial review or score. | You schedule your own launch date (the launch guide suggests 12:01 am Pacific). | 91 | 290K |
| BetaList Startup showcase | Paid only; plans and prices are shown at the end of the submission form. Full automatic refund if not selected. | Dofollow The 'Visit Site' button on a featured listing is dofollow (it routes through a 301 redirect for click tracking). | Human approval The editorial team reviews every submission before featuring; startups that are not selected are refunded in full. | Depends on the plan chosen; the expected timeline is shown at checkout and in the confirmation email. | 76 | 19K |
| Uneed Launch platform | Paid: Fast-track $14.99 or Skip the line $29.99 (free queue closed) | Dofollow Do-follow link from your launch (the site describes its domain as '75 DR', self-reported). | Community votes Community launch with upvotes; no editorial review or score stated. | Fast-track: a slot in about 14 days. Skip the line: choose your own launch date. | 75 | 7K |
| Fazier Launch platform | Premium $49 (15 days of homepage placement) | Dofollow on paid only Premium ($49) includes a permanent do-follow link; the link policy for standard launches is not stated. | Community votes Community upvotes; review process not stated. | Not stated | 83 | 484 |
| TinyLaunch Launch platform | Free (Standard) or Premium $39 per launch | Dofollow, with conditions Standard: a link only for top-3 finishers, dofollow once you embed its badge linking to tinylaunch.com. Premium: guaranteed high-authority link. | Community votes Community upvotes decide the top three; no editorial review or score stated. | Standard: launch queue. Premium: skip the queue. | 73 | 2K |
| SaaSHub Software marketplace | Free to submit and verify a product | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 80 | 26K |
| Futurepedia AI tool directory | Paid only: Basic $247 (sold out at verification) or Verified $497 one-time | Not stated | Human approval All submissions are subject to editorial approval; tools can be denied or removed if deemed inappropriate for the audience. | Published within 7 days (Basic) or 2 business days (Verified). | 72 | 53K |
| There's An AI For That AI tool directory | Paid only: $49 one-time (Website only) or $347 (Maximum exposure) | Not stated | Human approval All submissions are manually reviewed by staff. Accepts AI tools, GPTs and AI influencers (non-human) only. | Not stated | 77 | 1.1M |
| Toolify AI tool directory | Paid only: $99 one-time | Dofollow Promises 'no less than 6' dofollow links from the site. | Not stated | Listed within 48 hours, no queue. | 73 | 102K |
“Not stated” = the directory’s own site doesn’t say, so we don’t either. Outbound links to other directories are nofollow.
Full ranking with methodology: Best directories to submit your startup →
Where each one fits
The closest like-for-like swap. Same free-with-badge or one-time-Premium model ($25.20), Premium gets four dofollow links and instant publish, and the operator states every listing is reviewed before it goes live. Solo-run and open about it.
The cheapest paid permanent link in this set at $19 one-time, live in minutes. The free tier is the strictest here: five slots a day, a seven-day queue, and the link drops to nofollow if its badge ever leaves your site.
If you want a launch day rather than a listing. Open source, launches at 08:00 UTC, and a Premium launch is $12 with a guaranteed dofollow link. Free launches were booked into 2027 at verification, so budget the $12.
A free launch competition where the top three of each period earn a badge and a high-authority link, dofollow once you embed the badge. Premium ($39) guarantees the link. Good if you can rally votes.
An established launchpad with a community, but the free queue is closed: $14.99 gets you a slot in about two weeks, $29.99 lets you pick the date. Do-follow link from the launch.
For pre-launch and just-launched startups with a strong design story. Paid only, editorially selected, refunded in full if not picked, and the Visit Site link is dofollow. Not a directory you submit to for the link alone.
Still the launch with the widest audience. Free, community-voted, and not a link play: its value is the launch day and the social proof, not SEO.
When twelve.tools is the better choice
- You’re not building an AI tool. launched.tools only lists AI tools; twelve.tools takes any web tool or startup.
- You want three permanent dofollow links from one established directory for one payment. Pro at $36 is hard to beat among the paid tiers here; dofollow.tools ($19) gives one link.
- You already link out from your footer — a “featured on” strip, say. Then the free tier’s link-back requirement costs you nothing.
- You want to be in a large, established catalog fast without writing much. The form is short and the Pro review lands within 24 hours.
Fewer listings, each one reviewed
launched.tools isn’t trying to be twelve.tools with a different logo. We list fewer tools and spend more time on each one: every listing is test-driven and scored out of 100 on five public axes, and the page that results is an editorial review with a verdict, not a card.
That matters for two reasons. Readers and answer engines cite reviews, not link lists, so the page linking to you is one that earns its own traffic. And a listing here means you cleared a bar; the badge says so.
The trade-off is honest: we only list AI tools, and free listings need our badge on your site. Both of those links are dofollow, and Launched++ ($9.99, one-time) drops the badge requirement and adds two more followed links from your category hub and launch-month page.
Frequently asked questions
Is twelve.tools free?
Yes. The free plan costs nothing but requires a backlink to twelve.tools on your homepage or footer, gets one dofollow link, and is reviewed within 72 hours. Pro is $36 one-time with three permanent dofollow links and no backlink requirement.
Does twelve.tools give a dofollow link?
Yes, on both tiers. The free tier’s link is dofollow as long as you keep the required link back on your site; Pro links are described as permanent.
What is the best alternative to twelve.tools?
It depends what you’re after. For an editorial review with a score and dofollow links, launched.tools (AI tools only). For a like-for-like free-with-badge directory, findly.tools. For the cheapest permanent paid link, dofollow.tools at $19. For a launch day with votes, Open Launch or TinyLaunch.
Can I submit to twelve.tools and launched.tools?
Yes. They aren’t exclusive and cover different needs: one is a broad daily directory, the other is a scored review of AI tools. Most makers submit to several directories; the comparison table above shows which ones cost money and which need a badge or link back.
How long does twelve.tools take to list a tool?
According to its pricing page, free submissions are reviewed within 72 hours and Pro submissions are reviewed and listed within 24 hours.
Listed on twelve.tools? Add a review that scores you.
Submitting to several directories is normal. Ours is the one that test-drives your AI tool, scores it out of 100, and links to you from an editorial page — free with the badge, or $9.99 one-time without it.