The original, and still free: community-voted, self-scheduled, and the platform every other launch site here describes itself as an alternative to. No stated link policy, so treat it as a launch, not a link.
The best Open Launch alternatives in 2026
Open Launch (open-launch.com) is an open-source Product Hunt alternative: products launch every day at 08:00 UTC, the community upvotes, and the top three earn a badge and a link. A Premium launch is $12 with a guaranteed dofollow link and a next-day slot; the free tier exists but was fully booked into 2027 when we checked.
Founders look for alternatives for three reasons: the free queue is effectively closed, the free link depends on both a top-three finish and displaying a badge, and a launch day gives you 24 hours of attention where a directory gives you a page that stays. The comparison covers both kinds — launch platforms and directories — on the same four facts. One note on names: openlaunch.ai is a separate site running the same open-source software with its own pricing.
13 directories compared below, including launched.tools. Facts were read from each site on September 8, 2026; anything a site doesn’t state is marked “not stated”, not guessed. Head-to-head with launched.tools →
Credit where it’s due
Open source, and honest about it
The code is public on GitHub and the site says who runs it. You can read exactly how the launch mechanics work.
$12 is cheap for a guaranteed link
Premium buys a dofollow link, a next-day launch and a homepage feature, with ten premium slots a day. It is the cheapest guaranteed link on any launch platform in this comparison.
A real daily rhythm
Everything launches at 08:00 UTC, which makes planning simple and means your launch isn’t buried by a random posting time.
A paid review if you want one
The $59 SEO Growth Package bundles a Premium launch with a custom article targeting “[your product] review” searches.
The reasons people search for Open Launch alternatives
Free is booked into 2027
The free tier exists on the pricing page and nowhere else in practice; the site says it will email you when it reopens. Plan on $12.
The free link has two conditions
Finish in the day’s top three and display the badge. Miss either and there is no dofollow link.
Votes decide, not evaluation
Ranking is by upvotes. Nobody tests the product or writes anything about it unless you buy the $59 article, and that is written for a paying client.
A launch is a day
After your day on the homepage you are a project page in an archive. Directories with evergreen category pages keep sending traffic after the launch.
Open Launch vs 13 alternatives
Every cell comes from the directory’s own pricing, submit or FAQ page. Highlighted rows: Open Launch and launched.tools.
| Directory | Pricing | Link policy | Review process | Speed | DR | Traffic / mo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Open Launch Open-source launch platform | Free launch (fully booked into 2027 at verification) or Premium $12 per launch | Dofollow, with conditions Free: dofollow only if you finish in the day's top 3 and display its badge on your site. Premium: guaranteed dofollow link. | Community votes Community upvotes decide the daily top three. No editorial review or score is published. | Premium: launch the next day (10 premium slots daily). Free: waitlist, booked into 2027 at verification. | 72 | 0 |
| launched.tools Reviewed AI tool directory this site | Free (Bootstrap, badge required) or Launched++ $9.99 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free: two dofollow links (your listing page and the Reviewed Wall), conditional on keeping the badge on your site — a listing whose badge goes missing is unpublished after a 7-day grace period. Launched++: four dofollow links (adds your category hub and launch-month page), no badge, unconditional. | Editorial review + score Automated fit check, then a test-drive scored out of 100 on capability, usability, value, reliability and docs & support. The score is never for sale. | Free: live once the badge verifies after the automated check. Launched++: publishes when payment clears. | 38 | 0 |
| twelve.tools Curated tool directory | Free (link back required) or Pro $36 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free: one dofollow link, and a backlink to twelve.tools is required on your homepage or footer. Pro: three dofollow links described as permanent, no backlink needed. | Human approval Submissions are reviewed before listing; the site describes its picks as hand-picked. No written review or score is published. | Reviewed within 72 hours (free); reviewed and listed within 24 hours (Pro). | 82 | 1K |
| dofollow.tools AI & SaaS tool directory | Free (badge required, 5 slots a day) or paid from $19 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free listings stay dofollow only while its badge is on your site (re-checked; drops to nofollow if removed). Paid listings ($19 Pro, $25.90 Dual Directory, $99 Featured) get a permanent dofollow link with no badge. | Human approval Free submissions wait in a review queue; paid listings are published within minutes. No written review or score is published. | Free: a 7-day queue with 5 free slots a day site-wide. Paid: live in minutes. | 73 | 0 |
| findly.tools Curated SaaS & tool directory | Free (badge required) or Premium $25.20 one-time | Dofollow, with conditions Free: dofollow while its badge stays on your site. Premium: four dofollow links, no badge, lifetime. | Human approval The site states every listing is reviewed before it goes live. A separate paid Product Review ($79) is a 2,500+ word article on its blog. | Premium: instant publish. Free: queue time not stated. | 81 | 32 |
| Product Hunt Launch community | Free to launch | Not stated | Community votes Community-driven with community guidelines; no editorial review or score. | You schedule your own launch date (the launch guide suggests 12:01 am Pacific). | 91 | 290K |
| BetaList Startup showcase | Paid only; plans and prices are shown at the end of the submission form. Full automatic refund if not selected. | Dofollow The 'Visit Site' button on a featured listing is dofollow (it routes through a 301 redirect for click tracking). | Human approval The editorial team reviews every submission before featuring; startups that are not selected are refunded in full. | Depends on the plan chosen; the expected timeline is shown at checkout and in the confirmation email. | 76 | 19K |
| Uneed Launch platform | Paid: Fast-track $14.99 or Skip the line $29.99 (free queue closed) | Dofollow Do-follow link from your launch (the site describes its domain as '75 DR', self-reported). | Community votes Community launch with upvotes; no editorial review or score stated. | Fast-track: a slot in about 14 days. Skip the line: choose your own launch date. | 75 | 7K |
| Fazier Launch platform | Premium $49 (15 days of homepage placement) | Dofollow on paid only Premium ($49) includes a permanent do-follow link; the link policy for standard launches is not stated. | Community votes Community upvotes; review process not stated. | Not stated | 83 | 484 |
| TinyLaunch Launch platform | Free (Standard) or Premium $39 per launch | Dofollow, with conditions Standard: a link only for top-3 finishers, dofollow once you embed its badge linking to tinylaunch.com. Premium: guaranteed high-authority link. | Community votes Community upvotes decide the top three; no editorial review or score stated. | Standard: launch queue. Premium: skip the queue. | 73 | 2K |
| SaaSHub Software marketplace | Free to submit and verify a product | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | 80 | 26K |
| Futurepedia AI tool directory | Paid only: Basic $247 (sold out at verification) or Verified $497 one-time | Not stated | Human approval All submissions are subject to editorial approval; tools can be denied or removed if deemed inappropriate for the audience. | Published within 7 days (Basic) or 2 business days (Verified). | 72 | 53K |
| There's An AI For That AI tool directory | Paid only: $49 one-time (Website only) or $347 (Maximum exposure) | Not stated | Human approval All submissions are manually reviewed by staff. Accepts AI tools, GPTs and AI influencers (non-human) only. | Not stated | 77 | 1.1M |
| Toolify AI tool directory | Paid only: $99 one-time | Dofollow Promises 'no less than 6' dofollow links from the site. | Not stated | Listed within 48 hours, no queue. | 73 | 102K |
“Not stated” = the directory’s own site doesn’t say, so we don’t either. Outbound links to other directories are nofollow.
Full ranking with methodology: Best directories to submit your startup →
Where each one fits
The closest free equivalent: launch periods, upvotes, a badge and a high-authority link for the top three (dofollow once the badge is embedded). Premium at $39 guarantees the link.
A launchpad with a community and a do-follow link from every launch, but paid: $14.99 for a slot in about two weeks or $29.99 to choose your date.
Daily launches with weekly and monthly leaderboards and a newsletter. Premium ($49) buys 15 days of homepage placement and a permanent do-follow link; the launch form sits behind a login, so free-tier terms aren’t stated publicly.
If you’re pre-launch: an editorial team picks what gets featured, the Visit Site link is dofollow, and you get a full refund if not selected. Paid only.
Not a launch platform — a review directory for AI tools. Every listing is test-driven and scored out of 100, free with the badge (two dofollow links) or $9.99 one-time without it (four). What you lose in launch-day attention you get back in a page that keeps ranking.
A daily directory instead of a daily launch: twelve picks a day, free with a link back (one dofollow link) or $36 Pro for three permanent links within 24 hours.
If the link is the point: $19 one-time for a permanent dofollow link, live in minutes. The free tier has a badge, a seven-day queue and five slots a day.
When Open Launch is the better choice
- You want a launch day for $12 with a guaranteed dofollow link, and you can launch tomorrow. No other launch platform here is that cheap for a guaranteed link.
- You care that the platform is open source and its mechanics are inspectable.
- You’re not an AI tool and you want a launch, not a listing: Open Launch takes any tech product.
- You want a launch and a review article in one purchase — the $59 package does both.
Fewer listings, each one reviewed
launched.tools is the opposite shape from Open Launch. There is no launch day and no voting; there is a review. Every AI tool submitted is test-driven and scored out of 100 on five public axes, and the listing that results is an editorial page with a verdict — free with our badge, or $9.99 one-time without it.
What you give up is the spike. What you get is a page that ranks for your category and keeps linking to you, plus a place on that month’s launches page so the date still counts for something.
If you’re launching an AI tool, the sensible plan is both: Open Launch (or Product Hunt) for the day, launched.tools for the page that outlasts it.
Frequently asked questions
Is Open Launch free?
There is a free tier, but at verification free slots were fully booked into 2027. Premium is $12 per launch with a guaranteed dofollow link and a next-day slot.
Does Open Launch give a dofollow link?
Premium launches get a guaranteed dofollow link. Free launches get one only if you finish in the day’s top three and display the Open Launch badge on your site.
What is the difference between open-launch.com and openlaunch.ai?
open-launch.com is the original open-source project. openlaunch.ai runs the same software (its footer says “Powered by Open-Launch”) as a separate site with its own pricing — $9 Premium and five free slots a day at verification.
What is the best alternative to Open Launch?
For a free launch, Product Hunt or TinyLaunch. For a launch with a guaranteed link and a community, Uneed. For a page that reviews your AI tool and keeps ranking after launch day, launched.tools.
Can I launch on Open Launch and list on launched.tools?
Yes, and for an AI tool that is the natural combination: one gives you the day, the other gives you the review page that stays.
Listed on open-launch.com? Add a review that scores you.
Submitting to several directories is normal. Ours is the one that test-drives your AI tool, scores it out of 100, and links to you from an editorial page — free with the badge, or $9.99 one-time without it.